Scandals

Samsung hit to the heart by the corruption scandal

In 2017, Mr Lee, vice chairman of the flagship of the Samsung Electronics group, was suspected of bribing Ms Park's shadow confidante Choi Soon-Sil to the tune of nearly $ 40 million in exchange of political favors.

If convicted, Mr. Lee faces several years in prison. But other captains of industry have enjoyed some leniency in the face of such accusations, starting with his own father, Lee Kung-Hee, who suffered a heart attack in 2014.

The patriarch, under whom the obscure electronics firm had turned into a global group, was convicted in 1996 of bribing President Roh Tae-Wooo. He was given a suspended prison sentence before being pardoned a year later.

Tax evasion

In 2008, he was convicted of tax evasion and dereliction of duty after a former Samsung lawyer revelations about a secret slush fund weighing billions of dollars. Again, he received a reprieve and a presidential pardon.

The Lee family only owns 5% of Samsung's capital, but it controls the group through a complex web of cross-shareholdings between subsidiaries.

Samsung reportedly bought Ms Choi to get the government's go-ahead for a controversial merger between two entities seen as crucial for a smooth transfer of power.

Some shareholders vehemently opposed the transaction on the grounds that one of the entities had been deliberately undervalued.

(Source: Ouest-France)

en_USEN

Les scandales

Samsung touché au cœur par le scandale de corruption

En 2017, M. Lee, vice-président du navire amiral du groupe Samsung Electronics, est soupçonné d’avoir soudoyé la confidente de l’ombre de Mme Park, Choi Soon-Sil, à hauteur de près de 40 millions de dollars, en échange de faveurs politiques.

S’il est reconnu coupable, M. Lee risque plusieurs années de prison. Mais d’autres capitaines d’industrie ont bénéficié d’une certaine clémence face à des accusations de ce type, à commencer par son propre père, Lee Kung-Hee, victime d’une crise cardiaque en 2014.

Le patriarche, sous lequel l’obscure firme électronique s’était muée en groupe mondial, avait été reconnu coupable en 1996 d’avoir soudoyé le président Roh Tae-Wooo. Il avait été condamné à une peine de prison avec sursis avant d’être gracié un an plus tard.

Evasion fiscale

En 2008, il avait été reconnu coupable d’évasion fiscale et de manquements à ses devoirs après les révélations d’un ancien avocat de Samsung sur une caisse noire secrète pesant des milliards de dollars. Là encore, il avait bénéficié d’un sursis et d’une grâce présidentielle.

La famille Lee ne détient que 5 % du capital de Samsung mais elle contrôle le groupe via un écheveau complexe de participations croisées entre filiales.

Samsung aurait acheté Mme Choi pour obtenir le feu vert du gouvernement à une fusion controversée entre deux entités, considérée comme cruciale pour une transmission du pouvoir en douceur.

Certains actionnaires s’étaient opposés avec virulence à l’opération au motif que l’une des entités avait été délibérément sous-évaluée.

(Source: Ouest-France)

fr_FRFR_FR