General geography of South Korea

The Republic of Korea or South Korea is located in eastern Asia, on the southern half of the Korean peninsula jutting out from the far east of the Asian land mass. The only adjacent country is the Democratic People's Republic of Korea to the north with a 238 km border along the Demilitarized Zone (DMZ). South Korea is mostly surrounded by water and therefore has 2,413 km of coastline along three seas, the Yellow Sea to the west, the Southwest China Sea to the southeast, and to the is the Sea of ​​Japan (or East Sea for Koreans). With 98,480 km2, South Korea is slightly smaller than Bulgaria. 290 km2 of South Korea is occupied by fresh water. The approximate coordinates are 37 ° North, 127 ° 30 East. South Korea has nearly 3,000 islands located in the west and south of the peninsula.

carte : Géographie de la Corée du Sud
Satellite view of the Korean Peninsula

70% of South Korea is made up of mountains, oriented in the north-south axis, making east-west communications difficult. The chain of the Taebaek mountains builds the arched shape of the east coast, on a north-south axis.

Paysage hivernal et brume dans les montagnes de Deogyusan ...
Deogyusan's mountains

South Korea has a humid continental climate (Dwa according to the Köppen classification) with the exception of the southern and eastern coasts where frost is practically free during winter days and therefore fall into the category humid subtropical climate (Cwa) but with four distinct seasons.

Winters are cold, dry, sunny and windy from December to February with occasional rain and snowfall.

Spring begins at the end of March at the beginning of April when the trees turn green again. From March to May, the weather is very good.

Summers are hot and humid with abundant vegetation. The average maximum temperatures reach 30 ° C. Monsoon usually begins around the end of June and ends in September. August remains hot and humid with less rainfall.

Autumn begins at the end of September, continental winds arrive and a clear, dry climate makes the fall season along with spring the most pleasant time of year. In October the colorful panorama of trees becomes dazzling.

On the southern coasts, the natural vegetation is an evergreen laurel-type forest while most of the country is normally covered by deciduous forest. In the Northeast, where the mountains are higher, the harsh climate allows conifers to develop and form a mixed forest biome characterized in particular by the presence of Korean pine and Manchurian fir1.

Source Wikipédia.

en_USEN

Géographie générale de la Corée du Sud

La République de Corée ou Corée du sud est située à l’est de l’Asie, sur la moitié méridionale de la péninsule coréenne avançant en saillie hors de l’Extrême-Orient de la masse de terre asiatique. Le seul pays adjacent est la République populaire démocratique de Corée au nord avec 238 km de frontière le long de la zone démilitarisée (DMZ). La Corée du sud est surtout entourée par l’eau et possède donc 2 413 km de littoral le long de trois mers, la mer Jaune à l’ouest, la mer de Chine du sud-ouest au sud-est, et à l’est la mer du Japon (ou mer de l’Est pour les Coréens). Avec 98 480 km2, la Corée du Sud est légèrement plus petite que la Bulgarie. 290 km2 de la Corée du sud sont occupés par l’eau douce. Les coordonnées approximatives sont 37° nord, 127° 30 est. La Corée du Sud possède près de 3 000 îles réparties à l’ouest et au sud de la péninsule.

carte : Géographie de la Corée du Sud
Vue satellite de la péninsule Coréenne

Le territoire sud-coréen est composé à 70 % de montagnes, orientées dans l’axe nord-sud, rendant les communications est-ouest difficiles. La chaîne des monts Taebaek construit la forme en arc de la côte Est, sur un axe Nord-Sud.

Paysage hivernal et brume dans les montagnes de Deogyusan ...
Montagnes du Deogyusan

La Corée du Sud a un climat continental humide (Dwa selon la classification de Köppen) à l’exception des côtes du sud et de l’est où le gel ne sévit pratiquement pas pendant les journées d’hiver et qui entrent donc dans la catégorie du climat subtropical humide (Cwa) mais avec quatre saisons distinctes.

Les hivers sont froids, secs, ensoleillés et ventés de décembre à février avec des chutes de pluie et de neige occasionnelles.

Le printemps commence fin mars début avril lorsque les arbres reverdissent. De mars à mai, le temps est très clément.

Les étés sont chauds et humides avec une végétation abondante. Les températures maximales moyennes atteignent 30 °C. La mousson commence habituellement vers la fin juin pour se terminer en septembre. Le mois d’août reste chaud et humide avec moins de précipitations.

L’automne commence fin septembre, les vents continentaux arrivent et un climat clair et sec permet à la saison automnale d’être avec le printemps la période la plus agréable de l’année. En octobre le panorama coloré des arbres devient éblouissant.

Sur les côtes du Sud, la végétation naturelle est une forêt toujours verte de type laurisylve tandis que la plus grande partie du pays est normalement couverte par une forêt décidue. Dans le Nord-Est, là où les montagnes sont plus élevées, la rigueur du climat permet aux conifères de se développer et de former un biome de forêts mixtes caractérisé notamment par la présence de pin de Corée et de sapin de Mandchourie1.

Source Wikipédia.

fr_FRFR_FR