General History

The Three Kingdoms, Samguk (삼국), of Korea (traditional dates: 57 BCE-668 CE), refer to the kingdoms of Koguryo [Goguryeo] (고구려), Baekje (백제) and Silla (신라), in the Korean Peninsula and Manchuria. As a result, the Three Kingdoms period of Korea, 1st century BC. our era in the 7th century CE saw them clash with each other. Then Silla remained alone until 935. But 78 small tribal states coexisted with these three kingdoms, as well as several other states, more modest, of which the Confederacy of Gaya [Kaya] (42-562), Tongye [Dongye], Okcho [ Okjeo], Puyŏ [Buyeo] and Usan [Usan-guk] (Ulleungdo and neighboring islands). All were absorbed by the older ones.

The three kingdoms were preceded by a long period, that of the Samhan, where confederations of cities were formed: the three confederations of Mahan (future Baekje), Jinhan (future Silla) and Byeonhan (future confederation of Gaya) thus took forms in the peninsula, in the Center and in the South, at the end of the Bronze Age and the beginning of the Iron Age. These three confederations are referred to as Samhan ("Three han", where han refers to these confederations and not to the Han, Chinese ethnicity). This Samhan period is also sometimes referred to as the "proto-Three Kingdoms period" of Korea.

These states then occupied the entire peninsula and a large part of Manchuria, currently Chinese and Russian territories. In the 7th century, Silla, allied with China under the Tang dynasty, united the Korean peninsula for the first time in its history. After the fall of Baekje and Koguryo, the Tang dynasty established a short-lived protectorate to administer parts of the Korean peninsula. However, following the Silla-Tang wars (c. 670-676), the forces of Silla expelled the armies of the Protectorate from the peninsula in 676. The following period was called the Unified Silla or later Silla (668-935).

See more

In Korea, the period of unified Silla (or Grand Silla) is called the period of unification of the peninsula into a single kingdom, Silla, a period which extends from the last third of the 7th to the 10th century. It is preceded by the kingdom of Silla (1st century BCE - last third of the 7th century). It is followed by a period of instability, even anarchy, which ranges from 892, according to some, or from 918, according to others, to 936 with the emergence of the Goryeo (Koryŏ) dynasty; this short period is called the Late Three Kingdoms.

See more

The kingdom of Goryeo, sometimes transliterated as Koryo, is the state that occupied the entire area of ​​the Korean Peninsula in the early xth century at the end of the xivth century (918–1392). For two centuries, the arts and commerce were the wealth of Korea and Buddhism took a very large place. The capital was then Gaegyeong, now Kaesong in North Korea.

During the two centuries which follow this period of peace and prosperity, in the xiith and xiiith centuries, Mongol invasions completely devastated the country. The Mongols install their central power in Beijing: it is the Yuan dynasty. They remained there for 89 years and were eventually defeated in Korea in the late 1370s and early 1380s by General Yi Seonggye. This general founded the Yi dynasty, or Joseon dynasty, in 1392.

See more

The Joseon Period is the period in Korean history when the country was ruled by the Joseon dynasty, sometimes referred to as the Yi dynasty, a dynasty of Korean kings who occupied the throne from 1392 to 1910.

The Joseon dynasty was founded in 1392 by the Korean general Yi Seonggye, who overthrew the kingdom of Goryeo and at the same time put an end to the period of Mongol rule which had lasted since 1259. The name Yi dynasty therefore comes from the name of its founder, but the common name in Korea is period Joseon (조선 시대).

During the Joseon period, a centralized administration was set up, Confucianism returned in force and with it, a new system of values. The Joseon dynasty also experienced two great periods of prosperity, during which the culture flourished. Koreans made many discoveries during this time, such as the first eastern sundial, and the first hydraulic clock. The first printing press using metal type was invented in the Joseon dynasty. The dynasty built several fortresses, trading ports and sumptuous palaces. It implemented an agrarian reform, but was the victim of inheritance disturbances and factional struggles.

See more

The first part of Japanese colonization was marked by a violent repression of the resistance forces which appeared at the end of the 19th century. The invader proves to be an expert in "refined" annoyances. In addition to the repression and torture inflicted on Korean resistance fighters, a whole series of more subtle acts aim to deeply undermine Korean culture and destroy its identity. Koreans must speak Japanese in public and use Japanese names. The symbols of the Korean nation are attacked one after another. The Confucian National Academy is transformed into a primary school. For reasons of urbanization, the walled wall of Seoul is largely razed. Many national treasures are sent to Japanese museums. The former Changgyeonggung Royal Palace has even been turned into a zoo. During the Japanese occupation, Seoul took the name of Gyeongseong, the fortress-capital, and was transformed. With opening up to foreign legations and Japanese colonization, the capital is experiencing a wave of modernization, urbanization efforts ruined by the Korean War. In 1934 the Society for the Study of the Korean Language was created, twice dissolved in 1938 and 1939. On August 15, 1945, Korea was finally liberated from 35 years of occupation.

See more

For a video about Korea's story, see below:

en_USEN

Histoire Générale

Les Trois royaumes, Samguk (삼국), de Corée (dates traditionnelles : 57 av. notre ère-668 de notre ère), désignent les royaumes de Koguryo [Goguryeo] (고구려), Baekje (백제) et Silla (신라), dans la péninsule coréenne et en Mandchourie. En conséquence, la période des Trois Royaumes de Corée, du ier siècle av. notre ère au viie siècle de notre ère, les vit s’affronter entre eux. Puis Silla resta seul jusqu’en 935. Mais 78 petits États tribaux coexistèrent avec ces trois royaumes, ainsi que plusieurs autres États, plus modestes, dont la Confédération de Gaya [Kaya] (42-562), Tongye [Dongye], Okcho [Okjeo], Puyŏ [Buyeo ] et Usan [Usan-guk] (Ulleungdo et les îles voisines). Tous furent absorbés par les plus grands.

Les trois royaumes ont été précédés par une longue période, celle des Samhan, où se sont constituées des confédérations de cités : les trois confédérations de Mahan (futur Baekje), Jinhan (futur Silla) et Byeonhan (future confédération de Gaya) ont pris ainsi forme dans la péninsule, au Centre et au Sud, à la fin de l’Âge du bronze et au début de l’Âge du fer. Ces trois confédérations sont désignées en tant que Samhan (« Trois han », où han renvoie bien à ces confédérations et non à l’ethnie Han, chinoise). Cette période Samhan est aussi parfois appelée la « période proto-Trois Royaumes » de Corée .

Ces États occupent alors la totalité de la péninsule et une grande partie de la Mandchourie, actuellement territoires chinois et russe. Au viie siècle, Silla, allié à la Chine sous la dynastie Tang, unifie la péninsule coréenne pour la première fois de son histoire. Après la chute de Baekje et Koguryo, la dynastie Tang instaure un protectorat de courte durée pour administrer certaines parties de la péninsule coréenne. Cependant, à la suite des guerres Silla-Tang (v. 670-676), les forces de Silla expulsent les armées du Protectorat hors de la péninsule en 676. On nomme la période suivante Silla unifié ou Silla postérieur (668-935).

En savoir plus

En Corée, on nomme période de Silla unifié (ou Grand Silla) la période d’unification de la péninsule en un seul royaume, Silla, période qui s’étend du dernier tiers du viie au xe siècle. Elle est précédée par le royaume de Silla (ier siècle AEC – dernier tiers du viie siècle). Elle est suivie par une période d’instabilité, voire d’anarchie, qui va de 892, selon les uns, ou de 918, selon les autres, à 936 avec l’émergence de la dynastie de Goryeo (Koryŏ) ; cette courte période est nommée Trois Royaumes tardifs.

En savoir plus

Le royaume de Goryeo, parfois translittéré en Koryo, est l’État qui a occupé toute la superficie de la péninsule de Corée au début du xe siècle à la fin du xive siècle (918–1392). Pendant deux siècles, les arts et le commerce font la richesse de la Corée et le bouddhisme prend une très grande place. La capitale est alors Gaegyeong, aujourd’hui Kaesong en Corée du Nord.

Durant les deux siècles qui suivent cette période de paix et de prospérité, aux xiie et xiiie siècles, les invasions mongoles ravagent totalement le pays. Les Mongols installent leur pouvoir central à Pékin : c’est la dynastie Yuan. Ils y restent 89 ans et sont finalement vaincus en Corée à la fin des années 1370 et au début des années 1380 par le général Yi Seonggye. Ce général fonde la dynastie Yi, ou dynastie Joseon, en 1392.

En savoir plus

La période Joseon est la période de l’histoire de la Corée au cours de laquelle le pays fut gouverné par la dynastie Joseon, parfois appelée dynastie Yi, une dynastie de rois coréens qui occupa le trône de 1392 à 1910.

La dynastie Joseon fut fondée en 1392 par le général coréen Yi Seonggye, qui renversa le royaume de Goryeo et mit fin du même coup à la période de domination mongole qui durait depuis 1259. Le nom dynastie Yi vient donc du nom de son fondateur, mais l’appellation courante en Corée est période Joseon (조선 시대).

Durant la période Joseon, une administration centralisée est mise en place, le confucianisme revient en force et avec lui, un nouveau système de valeurs. La dynastie Joseon a également connu deux grandes périodes de prospérité, pendant lesquelles la culture connut un grand essor. Les Coréens firent de nombreuses découvertes à cette époque, comme le premier cadran solaire oriental, et la première horloge hydraulique. La première presse à imprimer utilisant des caractères en métal fut inventée sous la dynastie Joseon. La dynastie construisit plusieurs forteresses, des ports de commerce et de somptueux palais. Elle mit en place une réforme agraire, mais fut victime de troubles de successions et de luttes de factions.

En savoir plus

La première partie de la colonisation japonaise est marquée par une violente répression des forces de résistance apparues dès la fin du XIXe siècle. L’envahisseur se montre expert en vexations « raffinées ». Outre les répressions et tortures infligées aux résistants coréens, toute une série d’actes plus subtils visent à miner la culture coréenne en profondeur et à détruire son identité. Les Coréens doivent parler japonais en public et porter des noms japonais. Les symboles de la nation coréenne sont attaqués l’un après l’autre. L’académie nationale confucéenne est transformée en école primaire. Pour des raisons d’urbanisation, l’enceinte fortifiée de Séoul est en grande partie rasée. De nombreux trésors nationaux sont envoyés dans les musées japonais. L’ancien palais royal Changgyeonggung est même transformé en zoo. Pendant l’occupation japonaise, Séoul prend le nom de Gyeongseong, la forteresse-capitale, et se transforme. Avec l’ouverture aux légations étrangères et la colonisation japonaise, la capitale connaît une vague de modernisation, efforts d’urbanisation ruinés par la guerre de Corée. En 1934 est créée la Société pour l’étude de la langue coréenne, deux fois dissoute en 1938 et 1939. Le 15 août 1945, la Corée est finalement libérée de 35 ans d’occupation.

En savoir plus

Pour une vidéo condensée sur l'histoire de la Corée, voir ci-dessous :

fr_FRFR_FR