Holiday-Working VISA

1. South Korea Working Holiday Program

South Korea shares a working holiday program with fifteen countries around the world. The main purpose of this visa is to allow you to extend your vacation by securing funds through short term work in South Korea. This visa, valid only once, offers you a multitude of opportunities to immerse yourself in Korean culture. Holders of a working holiday visa are authorized to study or receive training during their stay.

※ List of participating countries

Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Japan, France, Germany, Ireland, Sweden, Denmark, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Czech Republic, United Kingdom, Italy, Austria.

◈ General visa conditions

  • You are allowed to study or take training for a maximum period of 12 months
  • You are allowed to work for a maximum of 12 months during your stay

※ Please note that the working holiday visa requirements may vary depending on the respective country

◈ Visa validity

  • Up to 12 months from the date of issuance of the visa
  • You can visit South Korea as many times as you like during the validity of the visa
  • You don't have to get an additional work permit
  • You have the right to exercise the functions attached to all types of temporary employment with the exception of certain specialized professions (doctors, teachers, professional athletes)

2. Come visiting South Korea (VISA)

To be eligible for the Working Holiday Visa, you must meet the following requirements:

  • be between 18 and 30 years old at the time of the visa application
  • not be accompanied by a parent during the period of your stay in South Korea
  • be in your country of residence when you apply and when your visa is issued
  • hold a valid passport
  • have health coverage valid for the duration of your stay in South Korea
  • justify that you have sufficient financial means to cover your costs at the start of your stay in South Korea
  • have a return plane ticket or sufficient means to purchase one
  • never have entered South Korea with a working holiday visa
  • attach the visa fee to your application form

* Visa fees: free

◈ Required documents

  • a visa application form completed and signed by the applicant
    • Must be indicated: the applicant's e-mail address, the postal address of his parents, their landline number
    • It is mandatory to indicate on the form, an address and a telephone number in Korea
    • The physical presence of the visa applicant is mandatory
  • A return plane ticket or a certificate of purchase of the plane ticket or a bank account statement showing sufficient resources to purchase a return plane ticket
  • A medical certificate attesting to the good health of the applicant
  • 1 certificate of assets in the amount of 2,500 euros (or photocopy of the account statement for the last month in conformity with the original) certified by the bank
  • Bulletin Nº 3 of the criminal record, dated less than 3 months 
  • The original passport
  • An identity photograph to the standards
  • A motivation letter for the trip or a program for the one-year stay (with a description of the remunerated activities that the applicant wishes to carry out in Korea or a letter explaining the reasons why the applicant ( e) wish to stay in Korea)
  • A certificate of schooling or a copy of the last diploma
  • 1 copy of proof of address (copy of the last EDF receipt, etc.) 
  • A medical insurance contract valid for 1 year and covering civil liability, repatriation and all risks related to illness, maternity, disability and hospitalization
  • Deadline: 5 working days
  • Cost : free

※ Please note that the required documents may vary between embassies / consulates. We therefore recommend that you obtain the up-to-date official information from your respective embassy / consulate before planning anything.

3. Korean (language)

Being able to speak Korean makes your application more attractive and increases your chances of finding a job. In South Korea, English is not widely spoken, both in everyday life and in the workplace. We therefore recommend that you learn as much Korean as possible before your working holiday in South Korea. There are many organizations, private and public, offering Korean language courses at various levels. The best way to do this is to contact the South Korean embassy or consulate in your country of residence to gather information regarding Korean language schools.

◈ Study Korean

4. Housing

South Korea has various types of accommodation available to those participating in the working holiday program.

☞ On arrival, you might prefer to stay in a hostel or guesthouse, as this is the perfect way to get advice and guidance at a reasonable price.

Hostels

Youth hostels are plentiful in South Korea and provide quality hospitality at an affordable price to visitors.

Les guest-houses

Guesthouses are private accommodations that have been converted into guest rooms. They bring you an authentic and enriching Korean experience by promoting opportunities for interactions with local Koreans and other travelers.

Long stay

Appartement

The apartment is the most common accommodation option among South Koreans and its popularity is explained by the fact that tenants are increasingly demanding when it comes to comfort. Close to almost all apartment complexes are services such as supermarkets and district authorities, as well as easy access to the public transport network. Usually apartments of this type are not furnished.

Studio (One room)

The studio is a popular and extremely popular solution for students and singles. This is a large single bedroom with a living / dining area and a kitchen area.

Officetel/Appartement studio

The Officetel is a combination of office and hotel, so people can live and work in the same building. Several of them are made available fully furnished. The Officetel is more expensive and offers more space and services than the studio. Tenants are also responsible for monthly maintenance fees and additional usage fees.

Residence

Service residences are furnished apartment buildings that provide services comparable to those of a hotel. They offer all the amenities of a modern apartment, including an indoor swimming pool, a gym and equipment in each unit. These are typically two to three times the size of an average hotel room and usually include a kitchen. Some residences may also offer house cleaning and laundry services.

Stay with host family

By living in a Korean-speaking hostel, you will have your own bedroom and eat with your hosts. It is an incredible chance to meet Koreans and share their way of life. You will be able to improve your fluency in the Korean language.

How to find

▶ On line

One convenient and economical way to find accommodation is on the Internet. The Internet can provide you with quality resources like real estate listing websites and housing listings in online newspapers.

▶ Off line

Although listing for homes on the Internet and in newspapers is a great way to find the perfect home, working directly with a real estate agent is common among potential tenants in South Korea. They are easy to find in every neighborhood. Many agencies have recognizable signs on their doorsteps, or on their windows, showing available accommodation. Once you've found the agent that's right for you, you'll tell them your terms and budget. He will guide you by showing you a range of accommodations and you can choose the one that suits your needs. The agent will have to verify the deed of ownership of the apartment and authenticate the identity of its owner.

5. Work in South Korea

Like everywhere in the world, finding a job in South Korea can be difficult, especially if you do not have a command of the Korean language. Fluency in Korean is definitely an asset in getting a job in South Korea. However, if you have the right profile and the right approach, you are likely to be successful in all types of jobs. Working in South Korea, rather than traveling there as a tourist, is a great way to integrate into Korean life and culture, and to make new friends.

◈ Jobs in South Korea available to South Korean Working Holiday Program participants

*Languages

▶ Tuteur

A growing proportion of South Korea's population shows a keen interest in foreign language lessons taught by native speakers. Although teaching in public or private language institutes is not open to holders of a working holiday visa, it is possible for them to give private lessons. University level and teaching experience will be considered an asset, but in some cases enthusiasm and motivation will suffice.

▶ Translator / Writer

To be a translator / writer you must have writing skills and know how to express yourself well in the target language. This function promotes the exchange of information and ideas between languages ​​and cultures. So, you will also need an understanding of the cultures of others. Selected translators / editors may be hired for business correspondence, website development, film subtitling, translation / writing of official documents, specialist texts and related writings. areas.

*Hospitality

▶Hotel/Restaurants

As South Korea is an increasingly popular tourist destination in the world, hotels, restaurants, and caterers currently employ bilingual or native staff to assist guests and clients. A person working in this environment must absolutely be courteous, have a remarkable control of the language and have undeniable aptitudes in the interpersonal relations. The most important aspects of this industry are ensuring the comfort of customers, ensuring the quality of the food served, and providing excellent service to guests.

*Volunteering

▶ WWOOF in South Korea

WWOOF (World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms) matches people who want to volunteer on organic farms or smallholdings with those looking for volunteer help. In return for your volunteer services, WWOOF provides you with food, accommodation and the opportunity to learn more about the organic way of life.

http://koreawwoof.com/

◈ Tips for job seekers

1. Pay special attention to your resume

- Your curriculum vitae is a real passport to potential employers. It should present you clearly and succinctly and describe only the aspects relevant to the position for which you are applying. You must attach a recent ID photo.

2. Find a job

- Online job search websites are probably the most used by job seekers. The following websites are the most popular among those offering English language jobs, in terms of the quality and relevance of the information contained. Go through the list and find the one that best suits your needs.

Seoul Global Centerhttp://global.seoul.go.kr/
Craigslisthttp://seoul.craigslist.co.kr
Justlandedhttp://jobs.justlanded.com/en/South-Korea/1
Worknplayhttp://www.worknplay.co.kr/

3. Build a network

- The majority of available jobs are never advertised; they are generally supplied through word of mouth. Your network of friends, relatives, and acquaintances is a valuable research resource.

4. Send spontaneous applications

- If you have a specific company or position in mind, prepare an application even if no job offer has been posted.

※ Questions-Answers

1. Am I limited in the type of employment I can do in South Korea with my working holiday visa?

☞ Participants in the working holiday program are allowed to exercise almost all temporary jobs with the exception of receptionists, dancers, singers, musicians, acrobats in places of entertainment which could compromise good moral values ​​and manners, or doctors, lawyers, teachers, pilots, language teachers or other professional services which require certain qualifications in accordance with national laws. If you wish to teach a foreign language in South Korea, you must apply for an E-2 visa.

2. How much money will I make?

☞ The salary depends on your skills, your experience, your level of education, your certifications and the type of employer (company). The hourly minimum for workers in South Korea is 4,580 Wons (4,860 in 2013), and part-time workers often find it difficult to cover their daily expenses with the minimum wage. Language-related careers (tutor, translator, editor, etc.) generally fall into the category of the highest paying jobs in South Korea.

en_USEN

VISA Vacances-Travail

1. Programme de vacances-travail en Corée du Sud

La Corée du Sud partage un programme de vacances-travail avec quinze pays à travers le monde. Le principal objectif de ce visa est de vous permettre de prolonger vos vacances grâce à l′obtention de fonds à l′aide d′un travail de courte durée en Corée du Sud. Ce visa, valable une seule fois, vous offre une multitude d′occasions de vous immerger dans la culture coréenne. Les titulaires d′un visa vacances-travail sont autorisés à étudier ou recevoir des formations durant leur séjour.

※ Liste des pays participants

Australie, Canada, Nouvelle-Zélande, Japon, France, Allemagne, Irlande, Suède, Danemark, Hong Kong, Taïwan, République Tchèque, Royaume-Uni, Italie, Autriche.

◈ Conditions générales du visa

  • Vous êtes autorisés à étudier ou suivre des formations pour une période maximale de 12 mois
  • Vous êtes autorisés à travailler pour un maximum de 12 mois durant votre séjour

※ Veuillez noter que les conditions du visa vacances-travail peuvent varier selon les pays respectifs

◈ Validité du visa

  • Jusqu′à 12 mois à partir de la date d’émission du visa
  • Vous pouvez visiter la Corée du Sud autant de fois que vous le désirez pendant la durée de validité du visa
  • Vous n′avez pas à vous procurer un permis de travail supplémentaire
  • Vous avez le droit d′exercer les fonctions attachées à tous les types d′emplois temporaires à l′exception de certaines professions spécialisées (docteurs, enseignants, sportifs professionnels)

2. Venir en Corée du Sud (visa)

Pour être éligible au visa vacances-travail, vous devez satisfaire les exigences suivantes:

  • être âgé de 18 à 30 ans révolus au moment de la demande du visa
  • ne pas être accompagné d’un parent durant la période de votre séjour en Corée du Sud
  • vous trouver dans votre pays de résidence lorsque vous effectuez votre demande et lors de l′émission de votre visa
  • détenir un passeport valide
  • posséder une couverture maladie valable pour toute la durée de votre séjour en Corée du Sud
  • justifier que vous disposez de moyens financiers suffisants pour couvrir vos frais au début de votre séjour en Corée du Sud
  • détenir un billet d’avion de retour ou les moyens suffisants pour en acheter un
  • ne jamais être entré en Corée du Sud en étant titulaire d’un visa vacances-travail
  • joindre les frais de visa à votre formulaire de demande

* Frais de visa: gratuit

◈ Documents requis

  • Un formulaire de demande de visa complété et signé par le(la) requérant(e)
    • Doivent être indiqués : l’adresse e-mail du requérant, l’adresse postale de ses parents, leur numéro de téléphone fixe
    • Il est obligatoire d’indiquer sur le formulaire, une adresse et un numéro de téléphone en Corée
    • La présence physique du demandeur de visa est obligatoire
  • Un billet d’avion aller-retour ou une attestation d’achat du billet d’avion ou un relevé de compte bancaire justifiant de ressources suffisantes pour acheter un billet d’avion aller-retour
  • Un certificat médical attestant la bonne santé du (de la) requérant(e)
  • 1 attestation d’avoirs d’un montant de 2 500 euros (ou phocopie du relevé de compte du dernier mois conforme à l’original) certifiée par la banque
  • Le bulletin Nº 3 du casier judiciaire, daté de moins de 3 mois 
  • Le passeport original
  • Une photographie d’identité aux normes
  • Une lettre de motivation du voyage ou un programme pour le séjour d’un an (avec la description des activités rémunérées que le (la) requérant(e) souhaite exercer en Corée ou une lettre expliquant les raisons pour lesquelles le (la) requérant(e) souhaite séjourner en Corée)
  • Un certificat de scolarité ou une copie du dernier diplôme
  • 1 copie d’un justificatif de domicile(copie du dernier quittance EDF, etc) 
  • Un contrat d’assurance médicale valable 1 an et couvrant la responsabilité civile, le rapatriement et l’ensemble des risques liés à la maladie, la maternité, l’invalidité et l’hospitalisation
  • Délai : 5 jours ouvrables
  • Coût : gratuit

※ Veuillez noter que les pièces requises peuvent varier selon les ambassades/consulats. Nous vous recommandons donc de vous procurer les informations officielles à jour auprès de votre ambassade/consulat respectif avant de planifier quoi que ce soit.

3. Coréen (langue)

Être en mesure de parler le coréen rend votre candidature plus attrayante et augmente vos chances de trouver un travail. En Corée du Sud, l’anglais n’est pas répandu partout, tant dans la vie quotidienne que dans le milieu du travail. Ainsi, nous vous conseillons d’apprendre le coréen le plus possible avant vos vacances-travail en Corée du Sud. Il existe beaucoup d’organisations, privées et publiques, dispensant des cours de langue coréenne de plusieurs niveaux. La meilleure façon de procéder est de contacter l’ambassade ou le consulat de Corée du Sud de votre pays de résidence afin de recueillir des informations concernant les écoles de langue coréenne.

◈ Étudier le coréen

4. Logement

La Corée du Sud possède divers types de logis à offrir à ceux qui participent au programme de vacances-travail.

☞ À votre arrivée, vous pourriez préférer rester dans une auberge de jeunesse ou une guest-house, car c’est le moyen idéal pour être conseillé et orienté à un prix raisonnable.

Auberge de jeunesse

Les auberges de jeunesse sont nombreuses en Corée du Sud et fournissent un accueil de qualité à un prix abordable pour les visiteurs.

Les guest-houses

Les guest-houses sont des logements privés qui ont été transformés en chambres d’hôtes. Elles vous apportent une expérience coréenne authentique et enrichissante en favorisant les opportunités d’interactions avec les coréens locaux et les autres voyageurs.

☞ Séjour de longue durée

Appartement

L’appartement est l’option de logement la plus commune chez les Sud-Coréens et sa popularité est expliquée par le fait que les locataires deviennent de plus en plus exigeants en matière de confort. À proximité de presque tous les complexes d’appartements se trouvent des services tels que supermarchés et administrations de quartier, ainsi qu’un accès facile au réseau de transports publics. Généralement les appartements de ce type ne sont pas meublés.

Studio (One room)

Le studio est une solution très répandue et extrêmement prisée des étudiants et des célibataires. Il s’agit d’une grande chambre simple possédant un coin salon/salle à manger et un coin cuisine.

Officetel/Appartement studio

L’Officetel est une combinaison de bureau et d’hôtel, de sorte que les gens peuvent vivre et travailler dans le même bâtiment. Plusieurs d’entre eux sont mis à disposition entièrement meublés. L’Officetel est plus dispendieux et offre plus d’espace et de services que le studio. Les locataires ont aussi à leur charge des frais mensuels de maintenance et des frais d’utilisation supplémentaires.

Résidence

Les résidences de services sont des immeubles d’appartements meublés qui offrent des services comparables à ceux d’un hôtel. Elles proposent toutes les commodités de l’appartement moderne, incluant une piscine intérieure, une salle de gym et des équipements dans chaque logement. Ceux-ci sont généralement deux à trois fois plus vastes qu’une chambre d’hôtel moyenne et comprennent habituellement une cuisine. Certaines résidences peuvent également proposer les services de nettoyage du logement et de buanderie.

Séjour en famille d’accueil

En vivant dans un foyer où l’on parle le coréen, vous aurez votre propre chambre à coucher et prendrez les repas avec vos hôtes. C’est une chance inouïe de rencontrer des coréens et partager leur mode de vie. Vous serez en mesure d’améliorer votre aisance en langue coréenne.

Comment trouver

▶ En ligne

Une façon pratique et économique de chercher son logement est sur Internet. Internet peut vous fournir des ressources de qualité comme des sites web d’annonces immobilières et des listes de logements qu’on retrouve dans des journaux en ligne.

▶ Hors ligne

Même si les annonces de logements sur Internet et dans les journaux sont une excellente alternative pour repérer le logis parfait, travailler directement avec un agent immobilier est chose courante parmi les locataires potentiels en Corée du Sud. Ils sont faciles à trouver dans chaque quartier. De nombreuses agences sont pourvues de panneaux reconnaissables devant leur pas de porte, ou sur leurs fenêtres, exposant les logements disponibles. Une fois que vous aurez trouvé l’agent qui vous convient, vous lui spécifierez vos conditions et votre budget. Il vous guidera en vous présentant une gamme de logements et vous pourrez choisir celui correspondant à vos besoins. L’agent devra vérifier l’acte de propriété de l’appartement et authentifier l’identité de son propriétaire.

5. Travailler en Corée du Sud

Comme partout dans le monde, trouver un emploi en Corée du Sud peut s’avérer difficile, particulièrement si vous ne maîtrisez pas la langue coréenne. Une aisance en coréen est indéniablement un atout pour l’obtention d’un travail en Corée du Sud. Cependant, si vous avez un profil pertinent et une approche adéquate, vous réussirez probablement dans tous les types d’emplois. Travailler en Corée du Sud, plutôt que s’y rendre en touriste, est un formidable moyen de s’intégrer à la vie et à la culture coréennes, ainsi que de se faire des amis.

◈ Emplois en Corée du Sud accessibles aux participants du programme de vacances-travail sud-coréen

* Langues

▶ Tuteur

Une proportion de plus en plus élevée de la population sud-coréenne montre un engouement pour les cours de langue étrangère dispensés par des natifs. Bien que l’enseignement dans des instituts de langues publics ou privés ne soit pas ouvert aux titulaires d’un visa vacances-travail, il est possible pour ces derniers de donner des cours privés. Un niveau universitaire et une expérience de l’enseignement seront considérés comme un atout mais dans certains cas, l’enthousiasme et la motivation suffiront.

▶ Traducteur/Rédacteur

Pour être traducteur/rédacteur vous devez posséder des aptitudes en écriture et savoir bien vous exprimer dans la langue ciblée. Cette fonction suscite l’échange d’informations et d’idées entre les langues et les cultures. Ainsi, vous aurez aussi besoin d’une compréhension des cultures des autres. Les traducteurs/rédacteurs choisis pourront être engagés pour la correspondance d’affaires, le développement de sites web, la réalisation de sous-titres de films, la traduction/rédaction de documents officiels, de textes spécialisés et d’écrits liés à d’autres domaines.

* Hospitalité

▶ Hôtel/Restaurant

Puisque la Corée du Sud est une destination touristique de plus en plus prisée dans le monde, les hôtels, les restaurants et les traiteurs emploient actuellement du personnel bilingue ou des natifs pour assister les invités et les clients. Une personne évoluant dans ce milieu doit absolument être courtoise, posséder un contrôle remarquable de la langue et avoir des aptitudes indéniables dans les relations interpersonnelles. Les aspects les plus importants de cette industrie sont d’assurer le confort des clients, veiller à la qualité de la nourriture servie, et offrir un excellent service aux invités.

* Volontariat

▶ WWOOF en Corée du Sud

Le WWOOF (World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms) associe les personnes qui désirent faire du volontariat dans des fermes biologiques ou des petites propriétés agricoles à celles en recherche d’aide volontaire. En retour de vos services bénévoles, le WWOOF vous fournit la nourriture, le logis et l’opportunité d’en apprendre davantage sur le mode de vie biologique

http://koreawwoof.com/

◈ Conseils pour les chercheurs d’emplois

1. Portez une attention particulière à votre curriculum vitae

– Votre curriculum vitae constitue un véritable passeport auprès des employeurs potentiels. Il doit vous présenter clairement et succinctement et décrire seulement les aspects pertinents pour le poste auquel vous postulez. Vous devez y joindre une photo d’identité récente.

2. Cherchez un emploi

– Les sites web de recherche d’emplois en ligne sont probablement les plus utilisés par les chercheurs d’emploi. Les sites web suivants sont les plus populaires parmi ceux offrant des emplois en langue anglaise, quant à la qualité et la pertinence des informations contenues. Parcourez la liste et trouvez celui qui convient le mieux à vos besoins.

Seoul Global Centerhttp://global.seoul.go.kr/
Craigslisthttp://seoul.craigslist.co.kr
Justlandedhttp://jobs.justlanded.com/en/South-Korea/1
Worknplayhttp://www.worknplay.co.kr/

3. Construisez un réseau

– La majorité des emplois disponibles ne font jamais l’objet d’une annonce ; ils sont en général pourvus grâce au bouche à oreille. Votre réseau d’amis, parents, et connaissances est une ressource de recherche précieuse.

4. Envoyez des candidatures spontanées

– Si vous avez en tête une entreprise ou un poste spécifique, préparez une demande même si aucune offre d’emploi n’a été publiée.

※ Questions-Réponses

1. Suis-je limité dans le type d’emploi que je peux faire en Corée du Sud avec mon visa vacances-travail ?

☞ Les participants au programme de vacances-travail ont la permission d′exercer presque la totalité des emplois temporaires à l′exception des fonctions de réceptionnistes, danseurs, chanteurs, musiciens, acrobates dans des lieux de divertissements qui pourraient compromettre les bonnes valeurs morales et les bonnes manières, ou encore médecins, avocats, professeurs, pilotes, enseignants de langue ou autres services professionnels qui exigent certaines qualifications conformément aux lois nationales. Si vous désirez enseigner une langue étrangère en Corée du Sud, vous devez faire la demande d’un visa E-2.

2. Combien d’argent vais-je gagner ?

☞ Le salaire dépend de vos compétences, votre expérience, votre niveau d’éducation, vos certifications et du type d’employeur (entreprise). Le minimum horaire pour les travailleurs en Corée du Sud est de 4,580 Wons (4,860 en 2013) et les travailleurs à temps partiel éprouvent souvent des difficultés à couvrir leurs dépenses courantes avec le salaire minimum. Les carrières reliées aux langues (tuteur, traducteur, rédacteur, etc.) appartiennent généralement à la catégorie des emplois les mieux rémunérés en Corée du Sud.

fr_FRFR_FR