Move in South Korea

A small country, South Korea also has very efficient public transport. The rail network covers most of the country, and many buses allow you to complete the territory, especially in less mountainous areas. The roads are excellent, and the country also has many airports and a multitude of domestic airlines. You won't have any problems getting around and will find your way around quite easily, especially in larger cities.

PLANE

There are many airports in the country that connect Seoul to major provincial cities, and some provincial cities between them. It’s an inexpensive and convenient way to travel to Korea, quite safe and fast. You can (and even depending on the periods and destinations, you have to) book by phone (the operators speak English), and, in most cases, you can collect your ticket at the last moment, at the airport or in one of the agencies. neighborhood trip. At the airport, the system is very well done, very fast too, because you can collect your ticket and check in at the same time at one of the many counters in the terminal. All this at the last minute if you don't have any luggage. Seoul's domestic airport is at Gimpo (where you can also find flights to China, Japan and Taiwan), the international airport is on an island off Incheon (see Seoul). There are two other international airports, in Busan (Gimhae) and Jeju, but the latter is mostly served by domestic flights. The Seoul-Jeju line is the busiest in the world!

BOAT

There are several ports from which you can take a boat to the coastal islands, and the more remote islands of Jejudo and Ulleungdo. You can also take boats from Busan to Yeosu which run along the coast in the Hallyeo Marine Park. The main ports are Incheon, Mokpo, Wando, Yeosu, Busan, Pohang, Donghae, Sokcho. There are also ferries that cross Chuncheon and Chungju lakes. You can also travel from Incheon to China, Japan or Russia.

BUS

The bus system is very developed in Korea and this means of transport is cheap, but not always fast (small roads, traffic jams). However, you will have no trouble finding your way, the organization of Korean buses is particularly well thought out. The system is also a bit complex. There are express buses that go directly to their destination. They only stop once or twice at a rest area during the journey and use the motorway when they can, where a special lane is reserved for them. Some express buses run at night. Then there are the intercity buses that connect the cities to each other and sometimes stop at tourist sites. There are still several categories depending on the number of stops served, the route taken, etc.

TRAIN

The train is the best way to travel in Korea between two direct destinations. In general, the cars are comfortable and you can enjoy the beautiful scenery. There are four types of trains: Tong-il or omnibus trains, slow and sometimes uncomfortable, Mugunghwa or fast trains, rather comfortable, the Saemaeul or express train, fast trains, very comfortable, with pleasant dining cars, and finally the KTX, the high-speed train, which now connects Seoul to the largest cities in the south of the country. There are two classes, the price depending on the number of kilometers traveled and the class. Almost all lines depart from Seoul (there are 3 stations).

CAR

There are rental agencies in every city, outside most train stations and airports. If not, the local tourist office will help you find one. The prices are reasonable, but it's still expensive if you don't have several to share. As the car is a good way to get around, the roads are mostly in good condition and the Koreans are generally very decent driving.

TAXI

Korean taxis are convenient and inexpensive. They are everywhere and at any time, in all the big cities and it is also possible to find them in the most remote places. There are several categories, regular taxis (pick up the first 2 km from 2,800 won to 3,300 won, then 100 won every 144m), luxury taxis (recognizable by their black color) and Jumbo taxis, which are very practical because one can travel there to 8 people with luggage. All prices increase by 20% between midnight and 4 a.m.

HITCHHIKING

Korea is a very safe country, so hitchhiking is possible, although it is not common. Koreans are very welcoming by nature, therefore they will not hesitate to lend a hand or take you a few miles if you are in need.

en_USEN

Se déplacer en Corée

Pays de taille modeste, la Corée du Sud dispose par ailleurs de transports publics très performants. Le réseau ferroviaire couvre la plus grande partie du pays, et de nombreux bus permettent de compléter le territoire, dans les zones moins montagneuses notamment. Les routes sont excellentes, et le pays compte par ailleurs de nombreux aéroports et une multitude de lignes aériennes domestiques. Vous ne rencontrerez aucun problème pour vous déplacer et trouverez votre chemin assez facilement, en particulier dans les grandes villes.

AVION

Il y a de nombreux aéroports dans le pays qui relient Séoul aux grandes villes de province, et certaines villes de provinces entre elles. C’est un moyen pas trop onéreux et pratique pour voyage en Corée, assez sûr et rapide. On peut (et même selon les périodes et destinations, on doit) réserver par téléphone (les opératrices parlent anglais), et, dans la plupart des cas, on peut retirer son billet au dernier moment, à l’aéroport ou dans une des agences de voyage de quartier. A l’aéroport, le système est très bien fait, très rapide aussi, car on peut retirer son billet et enregistrer en même temps à un des nombreux guichets de l’aérogare. Tout cela à la dernière minute si on n’a pas de bagages. L4aéroport des vols intérieurs de Séoul est à Gimpo (où l’on peut également trouver des vols vers la Chine, le Japon et Taiwan), celui des vols internationaux est sur une île au large d’Incheon (voir à Séoul). Il y a deux autres aéroports internationaux, à Busan (Gimhae) et à Jeju, mais ce dernier est surtout desservi par des vols intérieurs. La ligne Séoul-Jeju est la plus empruntée au monde !

BATEAU

Il y a plusieurs ports d’où on peut prendre un bateau vers les îles de la côte, et les îles plus éloignées de Jejudo et Ulleungdo. On peut aussi prendre des bateaux de Busan à Yeosu qui longent la côte dans le parc maritime Hallyeo. Les principaux ports sont Incheon, Mokpo, Wando, Yeosu, Busan, Pohang, Donghae, Sokcho. Il y a en outre des ferries qui traversent les lacs de Chuncheon et Chungju. On peut aussi partir d’Incheon vers la Chine, le Japon ou la Russie.

BUS

Le système des bus est très développé en Corée et ce moyen de transport est bon marché, mais n’est pas toujours rapide (petites routes, embouteillages). Cependant, vous n’aurez aucun mal à vous repérer, l’organisation des bus Coréens est particulièrement bien pensée. Le système est aussi un peu complexe. Il y a des bus express qui vont directement jusqu’à leur destination. Ils ne s’arrêtent qu’une fois ou deux sur une aire de repos durant le trajet et empruntent l’autoroute quand ils le peuvent, où une voie spéciale leur est réservée. Certains bus express roulent de nuit. Il y a ensuite les bus interurbains qui relient les villes entre elles et s’arrêtent parfois aux sites touristiques. Il y a encore plusieurs catégories selon le nombre d’arrêts desservis, la route empruntée, etc.

TRAIN

Le train est le meilleur moyen de voyager en Corée entre deux destinations directes. En général, les wagons sont confortables et l’on peut profiter agréablement des beaux paysages. Il y a quatre types de trains : Tong-il ou trains omnibus, lents et parfois peu confortables, Mugunghwa ou trains rapides, plutôt confortables, les Saemaeul ou train express, trains rapides, très confortables, dotés de wagons-restaurants agréables, et enfin le KTX, le train à grande vitesse, qui relie désormais Séoul aux plus grandes agglomérations du sud du pays. I y a deux classes, le tarif dépendant du nombre de kilomètres parcouru et de la classe. Presque toutes les lignes partent de Séoul (il y a 3 gares).

VOITURE

Il y a des agences de location dans chaque ville, à la sortie de la plupart des gares et des aéroports. Si ce n’est pas le cas, l’office du tourisme local vous aidera à en trouver une. Les prix sont raisonnables, mais cela reste cher si l’on n’est pas plusieurs pour partager. La voiture étant un bon moyen pour circuler, les routes sont pour la plupart en bon état et la conduite des Coréens est dans l’ensemble très correcte.

TAXI

Les taxis coréens sont pratiques et peu chers. Il y en a partout et à toute heure., dans toutes les grandes villes et il est aussi possible d’en trouver dans les lieux les plus reculés. Il y a plusieurs catégories, les taxis ordinaires (prise en charge les 2 premiers kilomètres de 2 800 wons à 3 300 wons, puis 100wons tous les 144m), les taxis de luxe (reconnaissables à leur couleur noire) et les taxis Jumbo, lesquels sont très pratiques car on peut y voyager à 8 personnes avec bagages. L’ensemble des prix augmente de 20% entre minuit et 4 heures du matin.

AUTO-STOP

La Corée est un pays très sûr, donc l’auto-stop est possible, même si ce n’est pas monnaie courante. Les coréens sont d’un naturel très accueillant, par conséquent, ils n’hésiteront pas à vous donner un coup de main ou vous avancer de quelques kilomètres si vous êtes dans le besoin.

fr_FRFR_FR